International Student Competition Jury

The UIA 2014 International Student Competition is convened by Gerhard Bruyns and adjudicated by: 

Rahul Mehrotra


Rahul Mehrotra works in Mumbai and teaches at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University, where he is Professor of Urban Design and Planning, and Chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Design as well as a member of the steering committee of Harvard’s South Asia Initiative.


Tasmi Quazi

South Africa

Tasmi Quazi has a background in architecture community-based design approaches and a degree in Development Studies. She has been recognised as one of the Mail and Guardian’s top 200 young South Africans, 2013, for her role as Research Officer of the Durban-based NPO, Asiye eTafuleni, working in the realm of inclusive urban design and planning with informal workers.


Luyanda Mphahlwa

South Africa

Luyanda Mphahlwa is an award winning architect, founder and Principal of DesignSpaceAfrica. Design awards include the SAIA award of excellence for the South African Embassy in Berlin and the Curry Stone Design Award for the 10x10 Design Indaba Sandbag housing project. His firm focusses on architecture contributing towards social change.


Iain Lowe

South Africa

Iain Lowe is professor at the University of Cape Town where he convenes post graduate research programs in architecture. He was Fulbright scholar at the University of Pennsylvania and visiting scholar at the American Academy in Rome. As a practitioner he was Project Architect for the World Bank/Government of Lesotho where he researched and designed schools for the Training for Self Reliance Project, and has designed an award winning reinstallation of Iziko South African Museum’s San Rock Art in Cape Town. Currently his research area is 'space and transformation' and the specialization in the contemporary [post-Apartheid] city. He is editor of the Digest of S A Architecture and the Digest of African Architecture.

Joe Osae-Addo


Joe Osae-Addo trained at the Architectural Association in London, Joe Osae-Addo is the CEO of Constructs R+D, an ‘innov-native’TM research and development company and the Chairman of ArchiAfrika Foundation, a non- profit organisation engaged in the promotion of African design and architecture.


Marianela Jiménez Calderón

Costa Rica

Marianela Jiménez Calderón Deputy Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of the Association of Architects in Costa Rica (CACR) and General Manager of the General Board of Directors of the Federate Association of Engineers and Architects in Costa Rica (CFIA). She holds a Degree in Architecture from the University of Costa Rica (Universidad de Costa Rica, UCR).


Monica Albonico

South Africa

Monica holds a bachelor degree in architecture and a masters in urban design from the University of the Witwatersrand. She is the director of the METACITY, URBAN PROJECTS UNIT and a Principal and Co-ordinator of Architectural and Urban Design projects at the firm she co-founded, known as Albonico Sack Metacity (ASM) Architects and Urban Designers. As an educator Monica has actively participated in academic and training programmes across South Africa and Latin America.Her work addresses primarily issues related to urban transformation, cultural and heritage spaces, sustainable human settlements and the creation of liveable cities.